Format and Rules

The Minnesota Economics Challenge follows the National Economics Challenge Rules & Eligibility Guidelines with one exception: Students participating in the Joan Robinson (small school) division may compete in that division more than once. This rule change was made to better facilitate the ability for small schools to compete in the challenge. Small schools are those with an enrollment under 600 students. Unfortunately, schools that compete in the Joan Robinson division are not able to advance to the National Competition since there is no small school division in the National Competition. If a small school is interested in advancing to the National Competition, they must compete in either the David Ricardo or Adam Smith divisions. 

Teams must compete in the same division at state as they do at the regional level. Teams may not change divisions between the regional and state level.

2019 National Economics Challenge Rules & Eligibility Guidelines

National Economics Challenge FAQ