Innovative Economic Educator Award

The Innovative Economic Educator Awards annually recognize teachers who create and implement innovative lessons that increase K-12 economic understanding.


The awards are open to Minnesota teachers in grades K-12. The Innovative Economic Educator Award is a one-time only award. Previous Innovative Educator Award winners are not eligible for the same award the following year.

Award Criteria

In selecting the winning teachers, judges will consider:

  • Innovation in approach and development
  • Emphasis on basic economic concepts
  • Ease of replication by other educators
  • Assessment of student learning


An Innovative Educator Award will be given in two categories - one for K-8 and one for secondary level grades 9-12. Winners receive cash prizes of $500. Winning entries will be featured on the Minnesota Council's website.

Awards Celebration

Award winners, along with their administrators, will be honored at EconFest, our annual recognition event in the fall. 

Entry Submission

The submission process is currently under review, please check back June 1.

Past Winners

Click here for a list of past winners and their award-winning learning activities.