Economic Educator of the Year Award

The Economic Educator of the Year award (formerly Economic Educator Excellence Award) has been presented since 1999. The Economic Educator of the Year Award recognizes one teacher annually who has a sustained history of commitment and contribution to economic education.


The awards are open to Minnesota teachers in grades K-12. The Educator of the Year Award is a one-time only award. 

Award Criteria

In selecting the winning teacher, judges will consider:

  • Leadership in economic education
  • Sustained commitment to economic education
  • Continuing preparation in economic education
  • Contributions to students' intellectual growth in economics
  • At least ten years classroom experience


Award winner will receive a cash prize of $1,500. The winner will be featured in MCEE's newsletter and on the web site and will be honored at our annual celebration EconFest.

Nomination Process

Teachers may nominate themselves or may be nominated by a peer, school administrator, curriculum specialist, community or business representative or a director of a Center for Economic Education. 

Awards Celebration

Award winners, along with their administrators, will be honored at EconFest, our annual recognition event in the fall. 

Entry Submission

The submission process is currently under review, please check back June 1.

Past Winners

Click here for a list of past winners.